Meet the Program Leadership and Core Faculty

Department Chairman
Alan L. Podawiltz, DO, MS, FAPA

Alan L. Podawiltz, DO, MS, FAPA is a 1995 graduate of the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. Dr. Podawiltz completed his intern year at the Oregon Health Sciences Center in Portland, Oregon. In 1999 he completed his Psychiatry residency at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) in Lubbock, Texas.

He served as the Chief Resident for the TTUHSC Department of Psychiatry during his last year in the residency. Dr. Podawiltz completed a one year Clinical Research Fellowship at TTUHSC. Dr. Podawiltz became the Psychiatry Residency Training Director at TTUHSC in 1999. In 2001 Dr. Podawiltz accepted the position of Psychiatry Residency Training Director for JPS Health Network Department of Psychiatry and served in that role until he assumed the position of Interim Chair of Psychiatry at JPS, August of 2003. Dr. Podawiltz is currently the Chair of Psychiatry for the University of North Texas Health Science Center Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine and the Chair of Psychiatry for JPS Health Network.

Program Director
Psychiatry Residency
Cheryl L. Hurd MD, MA, FAPA
Vice President - Medical Staff

Dr. Hurd began her career, surprisingly, as an English Literature major with a BA and MA from Southern Methodist University. Dr. Hurd later went on to graduate from the Texas A & M Health Science Center College of Medicine. She completed an internship and residency in a combined Internal Medicine/Psychiatry program at Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center (Now known as Banner University Medical Center).

Prior to joining the JPS family in 2008, Dr. Hurd was in private practice for 5 years in Brownwood, TX. In 2008, she became the Medical Director of the Consultation/Liaison Service for the Department of Psychiatry at JPS. In 2011, she became the Psychiatry Clerkship Director for the University of North Texas Health Science Center, Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. She was appointed as the Associate Program Director for the JPS Psychiatry Residency in June 2014, and was selected from a national search as the Program Director in January 2017. Dr. Hurd is board certified in general adult psychiatry through the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, and in internal medicine through the American Board of Internal Medicine. Dr. Hurd has received numerous teaching awards, including outstanding preceptor for Physician Assistant Studies (twice), President's Award for Educational Excellence (UNTHSC), Excellence in Psychiatric Education (JPS, twice), and the prestigious W.W. Goldman, Jr. Memorial Award for Outstanding Clinical Professor. Additionally, she has been voted as Top Doc in Fort Worth Magazine on multiple occasions. She is also the recipient of the Texas Medical Association Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine-Silver Level. Dr. Hurd has presented at regional and statewide conferences on Physician Wellness, Burnout, Communication with Patients, and Time management. She was honored to have presented at TexMed last year on Addictive Behaviors, and has been asked to present again this year on Interdisciplinary Collaboration.

Dr. Hurd has served on numerous hospital committees during her career, and currently is the Vice Chair for Credentialing at JPS, the Vice Chair of the Physician Health and Wellness Committee of the TMA, and the incoming chair of the Physician Wellness Committee at JPS. Dr. Hurd is also a board member of the Acclaim Physician Group, Inc. Dr. Hurd has been married for many years to her first love, and has two adult children. She has a passion for education on all fronts, as shown by her commitment to students, residents, her patients and her colleagues.

Associate Program Director
Psychiatry Residency
Dustin Stonewall DeMoss DO, MS, FAPA

Prior to his coming to JPS Dr. DeMoss spent five years completing a combined residency training program in Internal Medicine and Psychiatry at Tulane University in New Orleans, Louisiana. During four years of that time, he served as Chief Resident of the Internal Medicine/Psychiatry program. In his last year, Dr. DeMoss was awarded the Martin Fenton National Resident of the Year award by the Association of Medicine and Psychiatry as well as the Robert Gonzales award for his research efforts. He is boarded by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology as well the American Board of Internal Medicine. In 2017, Dr. DeMoss was awarded the designation of Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association for his dedication to the field of psychiatry. He has been named "Top Doc" by Fort Worth Magazine and others. Currently, Dr. DeMoss serves as the President of the Tarrant County Chapter of the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians. In addition to his role as associate program director for the JPS Psychiatry Residency, Dr. DeMoss enjoys several research efforts as a chapter co-author in a book on prevention of medical problems in psychiatric patients.